October 4 2019  |  Industry News

DFWC elects Sarah Branquinho as new President

By Laura Shirk

Branquinho previously served on the board of the DFWC in her former role as President of ETRC

Following its AGM, Duty Free World Council (DFWC) announced the election of Sarah Branquinho, to the role of President of the Council for a two-year term. It was a unanimous decision.

Branquinho, External Affairs Advisor at Dufry International AG, had previously served on the board of the DFWC in her former role as President of ETRC. She is well known within the industry as a figure with long duty free and travel retail experience and a history of active contribution to various industry bodies in addition to her corporate responsibilities.

Branquinho commented: “I am honoured to have been entrusted with taking the Duty Free World Council forward over the next two years. Under Frank O’Connell’s superb leadership, the DFWC has become a vocal and effective advocate for our industry in the face of many challenges to the way we operate.

I look forward to working with the regional associations and TFWA to protect and promote the duty free and travel retail channel and the contribution it makes to the travel and tourism ecosystem.”

The DFWC board welcomed Branquinho to the role and expressed its satisfaction at having such a capable individual take over the leadership of the Council considering the important part it plays in promoting the interests of the industry. The board recorded its appreciation of outgoing DFWC President Frank O’Connell, who has served since its founding six years ago and enabled it to interact with relevant global organizations, protecting and supporting the interests of all industry stakeholders.

O’Connell added: “I am very pleased to hand on the responsibility for the future development of the Council to Sarah, who I have worked closely with for many years and who I know will lead the Council to the next level.”

The new DFWC board is Sarah Branquinho, President, Grant Fleming, President APTRA, Gustavo Fagundes, President ASUTIL, Nigel Keal, President ETRC, Abe Taqtaq, President FDFA, René Riedi, President IAADFS, Haitham Al-Majali, President MEADFA and Alain Maingreaud, President TFWA.

Brand News

February 21 2020

Illva Saronno CEO Augusto Reina…

​It is with regret that we announce the passing of the Italian industrialist Augusto Reina, Chief Executive Officer of Illva…

By Mary Jane Pittilla

February 21 2020

The Glenlivet toasts Taiwanese…

​The Glenlivet has launched a new 14yo Sherry Cask expression, exclusive to travel retail in Taiwan

By Mary Jane Pittilla

February 21 2020

IWSR analysis: Can baijiu be successful…

​A new report from drinks analyst IWSR has analyzed the potential of China’s baijiu spirit in the US market

By Jas Ryat

February 21 2020

Nestlé ITR innovates in Orlando…

​Nestlé International Travel Retail will be returning to Orlando this year for the Summit of the Americas exhibition, where…

By Hibah Noor

February 21 2020

Halewood Wines & Spirits raises…

​With its own stand at the 2020 Duty Free & Travel Retail Summit of the Americas, Halewood…

By Jas Ryat

February 19 2020

SSP America sets Seattle neighbourhood…

​SSP America announced the opening of Capitol Hill Food Hall at Seattle-Tacoma International Airport

By Jas Ryat

February 18 2020

Seiko available in Attenza duty…

​Master Franchisor Duty Free Dynamics (DFD) has launched Seiko watches in Attenza duty free of Columbia and Ecuador

By Jas Ryat

February 17 2020

Cuba gears up for Habanos Festival

​Havana is hosting the XXII Habanos Festival, the largest international event for Habanos cigar aficionados, from February…

By Mary Jane Pittilla

February 14 2020

Perfetti Van Melle returns to Orlando…

​Perfetti Van Melle returns to Orlando this year with new products for the Summit of the Americas travel retail exhibition…

By Hibah Noor

Copyright 2020 DutyFree Magazine. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy Sitemap